Art

A Castle for Art Lovers

In the unique setting of its historical salons, restaurant and hotel rooms, Hotel Schloss Spyker not only presents works of art from the 19th – 21st centuries by artists like Rodin, Lehmbruck, D. Giacometti, Chillida, Chagall, Christo, Dali, DeSoto, Tapies H. Janssen, but also changing exhibitions by contemporary artists like K. Meixner and A.C. Schmetjen.

Stucco ceilings

In 1652 the then owner of Spyker Castle, Field Marshall Count Carl Gustaf Wrangel, had the stucco ceilings installed in the piano nobile. The early-baroque reliefs are unique in the entire Baltic region and are the work of stucco plasterers Antonius Lohr and Nils Eriksson. All the ceilings feature vivid three-dimensional figures.

The themes in the foyer represent the four elements: fire, air, water and earth.

As the name suggests, the ceilings in the big Four Seasons Salon feature spring, summer, autumn and winter. Each season is depicted in medallion form with a wealth of lavish details. Embellished with mythical creatures like a unicorn as well as very realistic depictions of deer, horses, birds or even little owls peering out of their holes and adorned with an array of plants and other ornaments, their three-dimensionality is fascinating.

The ceiling in the smaller Blue Salon features the “Judgement of Paris”, a story from Greek mythology in which Paris appears to Hermes, who asks him to decide which of the three goddesses Hera, Athena and Aphrodite is the most beautiful. Paris makes his judgement and decides in favour of Aphrodite, who has promised him the hand of the most beautiful woman on earth. The other two goddesses are disappointed: Hera swears eternal hatred on Paris and the Trojans, thus contributing to the destruction of Troy.

Although the fruit and bird motifs in the honeymoon room and adjacent room are less opulent, they are nevertheless beautiful in their simplicity.

History Schloß Spyker

A building that probably served as a granary was erected in the 14th century. Spyker could be derived from the Low German word ‘Spieker’, meaning granary.

After 1318
The estate belongs to the Stralsund patrician family von Kulpen.
1435
The castle becomes the property of the von Jasmund family.
1648
As a result of the Thirty Years War, Pomerania – and thus also Rügen – falls to Sweden as part of the Peace of Westphalia. Sweden's Queen Christina declares Spyker Castle Swedish property and gives it to Field Marshall Carl Gustav von Wrangel in recognition of his services in the war.
1650
Von Wrangel makes alterations to the castle, giving it its current form, and has the stucco ceilings installed in the piano nobile or main floor. These early-baroque masterpieces are the work of stucco plasterers Antonius Lohr and Nils Eriksson and are unique in the entire Baltic region.
1668
Sweden's Queen Christina spends several weeks at the castle.
1676
Carl Gustav von Wrangel dies at Spyker Castle.
1687
The castle falls to his elder daughter. On her marriage, it becomes the property of the Swedish von Brahe family.
Early 19th century
French billeting, Spyker becomes the seat of the Governor of Rügen.
1815
Rügen, hitherto Swedish, becomes part of Prussia and falls to Prince Wilhelm Malte I zu Putbus. It remains in the possession of the House of Putbus until 1945.
From 1964
The FDGB (Free German Trade Union Federation) uses the castle as a holiday home.
1994 / 1995
Spyker Castle is restored and converted into a hotel.
Since 2006
Under new management, Hotel Schloss Spyker today combines the beauty of bygone eras with a modern ambience and contemporary art.